Sturt Highway, more towns added to NSW border zone

THE New South Wales border zone has been expanded to include the Sturt Highway and more border towns.

When new, tougher border restrictions took effect on Wednesday, the Sturt Highway was off-limits to Victorians, even those who obtained permits.

On Thursday morning, the Service NSW website was displaying an updated map that did incorporate the road.

The area around Euston was also expanded, along with Victorian towns such as Cabarita and Cardross, where addresses were previously deemed ineligible for the border resident permit.

These changes mean Robinvale residents will not be limited to Victorian roads if they are travelling to Mildura and have obtained a permit.

Meanwhile, those who live in a town such as Cabarita but work in NSW will now be able to get to work, provided they obtain a permit.

Residents can check whether their home or work address is in the updated border zone on the Service NSW website.